The Playlist: Trolls and Flintstones but no Stoppit and Tidyup.

Flamin’ ‘eck it’s getting close to the end of 2018, I wonder how many more playlists I can cram into the year? Just this one probably. Lucky then that it’s jam packed with awesomeness. Incidentally why is nothing ever marmalade packed? It’s just one of life’s mysteries I guess. Anyway here’s the playlist, as ever keep scrolling, scrolling, scrolling for my notes on each track:

Body Talks – The Struts: A swaggeringly brilliant track from the swaggeringly brilliant Young & Dangerous album. People who don’t pay attention to the rock scene think they might be the future of rock n roll. For once those people might be right.

No Crisis – Theia: Of course those of us who have been paying attention know that rock’s future is in perfectly safe hands thankyouverymuch. Take the youthful – yet mature – Theia for example. Proper rock goodness.

The Ballad Of Captain Jack – One In The Chamber: After last month’s playlist they was quite a bit of love for One In The Chamber (well two people – but that’s quite a high percentage of the readership if I’m honest…). If anything this song is even better. Unique rhythms, inventive lyrics and catchy as fuck. Get your lugholes round this.

I’m The One – Van Halen: It’s always nice when an old song by a well known band leaps out and surprises you. This came up on shuffle the other day and having previously not paid it a huge amount of attention it really got my blood pumping. They were a bit good Van Halen, weren’t they?

Waterfalls – Mouth in the South: I’ve been re-listening to some of my favourite EPs of 2018 recently and I realised I’d never added these guys to a playlist. They make no secret of their retro influences but what they do they do very well. And those vocals are pretty damn powerful aren’t they?

Under Offer – The Senton Bombs: For those of you who loved the 90s Brit Rock scene where punk and rock n roll were melded seamlessly will find a lot to like about The Senton Bombs who do much the same thing and with similarly excellent results. I’m getting The Damned, The Almighty, Therapy, Whatever and some deep red berry flavours here. And like the finest wines it’s good drunk.

Right to Life – Millie Manders and the Shutup: Their name always makes me think of the Terry Wogan narrated cartoon Stoppit and Tidyup, and while they’d have to go some way to top that level of awesomeness they make a damn good fist of it here. It a two tone influenced punk blast, like The King Blues with a singer who can actually sing.

Got My Name Changed Back – Pistol Annies: If you’re looking for a genre that does a good divorce song then country really has to be your go to. And if you’re looking for an upbeat celebration of divorce within that genre then Pistol Annies have got you covered. And if you’re just looking for a good song it works on that level too.

The King is Gone (and So Are You) – George Jones: A Blake Shelton cover of this sent me scurrying to re-listen to the George Jones original. It’s all booze and breaking up and Flintstones references and no one does that better than George Jones. Actually I’m not sure anyone else actually does that at all but hey ho.

She Got Dressed – Fleet Foxes: A rare early cut from their 2006 pre-Subpop EP. Now re-released on a new anthology type of thing. It’s more urgent than most of their more floral output and a touch Kinks-y which is nice.

Alexa – Beans on Toast: Very few people can pierce the thin veil of society like good Ol’ Beans. Here he takes on Amazon with his usual wit and intelligence. Probably best played on Google devices…

1234 – Emigrate: Got to say Emigrate completely passed me by when they came out but this cropped up on a Spotify playlist and I loved it. It’s the guitarist from Rammstein’s rock and roll side project, and this song has the bloke from Billy Talent singing. And it’s just bloody good.

I See Through You – Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats: One Of those bands that sound like someone and you can’t quite put your finger on who before you realise that it’s kind of everyone. It feels like it was recorded in a thick fug of weed smoke, it feels loose and raw and yet it’s actually perfectly constructed and weirdly hypnotic. Glorious.

Espen Bin Askeladden – Trollfest: Sung (and screeched) entirely in a language I don’t understand (but I like to think is trollish) this is a folk-metal gem that really has no right to get stuck in my head as much as it does. It’s mental obviously, but that just makes it even more fun.

Brain – Voodoo Blood: Another rediscovery during my EP revision. Voodoo Blood are weird, wonderful and making some noise on the U.K. live scene and by God can their singer sing. Heavy, bluesy and soulful. Lovely stuff.

Bareknuckle Lover – Chasing Dragon: Another band who are fantastic live, something I can attest to having been blown away by them at the Croydon Rocks festival recently. This is a gloriously dark and primal ode to sex, and another astounding vocal performance from lead singer Tank.

American Scandal – Ashley McBryde: Sticking with the female vocalists but moving into country territory now. Ashley McBryde is just a damn fine songwriter singing damn fine songs. Why wouldn’t you want to listen to that?

The Bullet – Carrie Underwood: Country music – like America itself – has a complicated relationship with guns, but you’d have to be a pretty mental gun lobbyist not to be touched by Carrie Underwood’s heartfelt story of the damage done and the long lasting affects of a shooting if you ask me.

Testify – These Wicked Rivers: A little more upbeat now, TWR’s cool southern groove really does belie the fact that they’re from the midlands. I urge you to check these guys out either live or on record, they really are pretty special.

Royal Beggars – Architects: I’m not sure how I managed to stay ignorant of Architects for as long as I did, I guess I’ve got some catching up to do, cos there aren’t many metal bands who can write songs as good as this. Or perhaps there are and I’m even more ignorant than I thought…I really need to listen to all the music ever.

Angelvs XIII – Behemoth: Of course when it comes to metal Behemoth really are right at the top of the pack. Brutal, uncompromising, intense and brilliant. Metal like your mum used to make (if your mum happened to be a demon unleashed from the bowels of hell, obvs.)

Leave a comment